Gorgos
Home Research Teaching Students Recursos Curriculum Redibec ENT Liphe4 Blog

Curriculum Vitae

Click here to download a full version of the Curriculum Vitae in PDF.

Born in April 17th, 1974 in Santa Coloma de Gramenet (Barcelona, Spain) I have been interested in economics from very early ages. I studied Development Economics at Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB) in Barcelona, did the military service as 2nd Liutenant, and enrolled in the PhD programme in Environmental Sciences at UAB in 1997. I finally received the PhD (Analysing the exosomatic energy metabolism of societies) in October 2005. In the mean time I went to the UK to study at Keele University, where I did two masters, one in Environmental Politics, and one in Ecological Economics.

From a professional point of view, I have been involved mainly in academics. Currently I am rector at Universidad Regional Amazónica IKIAM. Previously, I was researcher at FLACSO Ecuador and Dean and researcher of the Centro de Prospectiva Estratégica (CEPROEC) at Instituto de Altos Estudios Nacionales (IAEN) in Ecuador. I have also served as Assistant Professor at the Department of Economics and Economic History of UAB, where I was also a research fellow at ICTA - UAB. I have given courses at FLACSO Ecuador, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Universidad Pablo de Olavide and Universitat Oberta de Catalunya. I worked as researcher for two years at the Italian National Institute for Research on Food and Nutrition, and one year at the Institute for Social Ecology of the University of Klagenfurt, Austria. Moreover, with some friends we set up an environemntal consulting firm, ENT Environment & Management where I worked for some time as Manager.

I have attended many international conferences and presented papers. I have also published my work both in Spanish and English, which you can find at the Research page. I have been involved in the set up of the scientific association Liphe4 and the Iberoamerican Network for Ecological Economics.

I played basketball and above all rugby for many years and I still consider myself a rugby player. I like being surrounded by mountains, and reading a nice book by a fireplace, pleasure that I can mainly have in Almegíjar, in La Alpujarra in Granada where my parents come from. This does not mean I wouldn't enjoy living, for example, in Santa Marta, Colombia.

Universidad Regional Amazónica IKIAM, km. 7 via Muyuna-Atacapi, Tena, Ecuador, CP 150102, tel: +593 (0)6 3700040 e-mail, twitter account LIPHE4 Scientific Association My stats at Google Scholar IASTE Research GroupVisit my Blog